This is a topic I have struggled with. The cultural narrative of being single beyond a particular age is about either being single and awfully sad about it or celebrating singlehood and the joys of it. But is life that straight jacketed? I intellectually know it isnt but I am emotionally struggling with it. This piece here furthers that point with respect to singlehood :

http://www.rolereboot.org/life/details/2012-01-single-and-happy

(I don’t have any grandiose conclusions to this piece. Instead, I offer this: I think that women, both partnered and single, would benefit from being more honest about the joys and struggles that come with either situation. How wonderful for a single woman to talk about some of the struggles of being single without being automatically judged as miserable, or to be able to share her happiness without someone thinking or saying “Yes, but you don’t have a man.” Conversely, how wonderful for a married woman to be able to admit she sometimes longs for alone time, or that sometimes marriage is difficult.)

 

